Jimmy Gibson RIP

 

Jimmy Gibson playing his beloved Fender Strat

Here’s Jimmy playing his composition ZODIAC

 

For those that may not be aware, the renowned composer and chordman, Jimmy Gibson died over the weekend after a short illness.

Jimmy was a founder member of 70s rockers, Peggy’s Leg. The band’s dual guitar sound and intricate chord and riff progressions, forged by chordman Jimmy and lead guitarist Jimi Slevin, won them instant recognition and much critical acclaim. It was a natural bond and a band of brothers.

Jimmy went on to play with an array of bands and musicians and, in particular, with fiddle player Pat Collins and axeman extraordinaire Jimmy Faulkner in the much loved Django Rheinhardt influenced Hotfoot.

14 Responses to “Jimmy Gibson RIP”


  1. 1 Terry June 15, 2015 at 9:14 am

    I remember Jimmy very fondly from all the gigs I did with him, Rest in peace, Jimmy.

  2. 2 Ben Moloney May 5, 2014 at 2:18 am

    Played bass with Jimmy in Jack of Hearts for many years and he taught me a lot. I heard of his passing on the Ronan Collins show and it shocked me to the core. Played with many guitar players but Jimmy was the best. I used to tell him he was my favourite guitar player and he would look at me with a sheepish grin. A true gentleman and a lovely human being.
    .
    Ben

  3. 3 tommy O Toole October 5, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Have great memories of a humble and decent musican from the70s onward a pint now and again in middle abbey st. I was compiling the herald gig guide at the time of all the musos who called he was by far one one of my favourites.

  4. 4 Des Sands February 11, 2013 at 5:22 pm

    Intrduced Jimmy to the music buisness with jimi slevin.He thought me all the best guitar playing that I know,still play some his early songs with my daughter.I lost contact with him and only heard of his passing this w/end.I feel so sad.Would love to here from his family

    Des Sands
    dessands1@gmail.com

  5. 5 mike dempsey July 8, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    what a loss, nice calm man, himself and slevin were world beaters when they got it movin, sad times ,just read the blog

  6. 6 Pearse March 7, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    I first met Jimmy at the Osibisa, South King Street, in 1971, he was a regular there like myself. One night a band that was booked didn’t show, but the stage was set, drums, mikes, amps, the PA system, and more than your average amount of guitars, and if my memory serves me right it was Bernard White from “Elmer Fudd,” http://www.irishshowbands.net/bgelmerfudd.htm who was in the crowed who took the initiative, he hopped up on to the stage and asked was there any guitar players in the audience. A stack of guitarists jumped on stage. It was like musical chairs with everyone trying to grab an instrument. But Jimmy was quick, he just suited himself up with a guitar, assumed the stance, the grushie for position was settled, and so a one night band was formed, that was Jimmy’s introduction to the stage.
    Remember another time we’re walking home from Slattery’s and he was trying to tell me about an episode of the Simpson’s where Bart is dress up as an ninja, but he couldn’t stop laughing long enough to tell me, though he still had me laughing, he was doing the actions an all, had to wait to see it myself.
    I wasn’t at his house to often but he use to put me talking to his mum, and dad, while he was getting ready. He told me his mother loved talking to me, and that his dad used to think I was great craic, which was a really nice complement.
    But one thing about Jimmy he was the real deal, not a pretentious bone in his body, he’d a great sense of humour, held his own with regards to trouble, and had a deep appreciation of the music of our era, the music we grew up with.

  7. 7 jennifer February 8, 2011 at 6:21 am

    Ill never forget my uncle

  8. 8 Linda Cummins February 8, 2011 at 5:59 am

    Thank you so much for putting this on you blog. Jimmy was a lovely soul and I am very saddened by his passing. He was always too good for this harsh world. Linda

  9. 9 Helen February 4, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Great little feature of Jimmy and a terrific photo. I remember him well from the 70s and enjoyed many a night listening to Peggy’s Leg in the Baggot Inn. Great days indeed.

    Jimmy will be missed in the music circles.

    Rest in peace, Jimmy.

  10. 10 jimmy (haggis!!) francey February 4, 2011 at 10:43 am

    So sorry to hear of Jimmy’s passing.I had many enjoyable nights playing with Jimmy and the “Ace of Hearts” on Sunday evenings at Slatterys on Capel St during the early 90’s. He was a lovely bloke and a great guitarist.

  11. 11 Brian January 31, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    I was saddened to learn of Jimmy’s passing. I played with Jimmy in the Jack of Hearts band in slattery’s during the 1990’s. I lost touch with him after this. He was a wonderful player and on occasion singer. He was a complete guitar player easily switching from lead to rhythm. I learned a lot from playing with Jimmy and he showed me quite a few songs including Little Wing by J Hendrix. He had a great ear for music and had a nice touch.

  12. 12 Paul January 30, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Another Hotfooter gone – Sad……..

  13. 13 Tina McDonald January 29, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Jimmy I Had The Best Times With You, I’m So Sorry To hear Of Your Passing!!!


  1. 1 Jimi Slevin & Firefly – Getting There « Rock Roots Trackback on October 20, 2011 at 10:02 am

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

